Posted by: savvyatlanta | August 13, 2008

Georgia Clean Air Campaign

Make this mess a little more pleasant

Spaghetti Junction: Make this mess a little more pleasant

So, I may be one of the most un-Green people around. If I’ve parked my car in front of one store and need to go to another in the same shopping plaza…yes, I will drive my car 5 whole feet instead of walking.

Before you start throwing your red paint on my fur coat, know that I am making an effort to turn over a new leaf. I may even buy one of those trendy “I am not a Plastic Bag” or “Green is Good” canvas bags to carry my groceries in. Maybe. But one thing that I am definitely going to try is participating in the Georgia Clean Air Campaign. I’d like to think I can do a little bit to keep the air so fresh and so clean around Atlanta…and plus, there’s a monetary benefit.

There are a variety of ways to get involved in this campaign, but I think the easiest for us young working folk is to sign up for the “cash for commuters” program. If you’re currently driving alone, consider asking around your office to see if there is someone you can start carpooling with. Fill out an application to do so here, and you can earn up to $3 a day for 90 days. That’s $180, people.

Trouble finding other treehugging souls to carpool with? Go to RideSmart to be instantly matched up.

Posted by: Tina

Leave a Reply

Categories

